Jirsa Named SCIAC Men's Golfer of the Year

Jirsa Named SCIAC Men's Golfer of the Year

LOS ANGELESDylan Jirsa was named the SCIAC Men's Golfer of the Year on Friday after finishing with lowest total score after seven rounds of conference golf.

Jirsa finished second at SCIAC # 1, third at SCIAC # 2 and seventh at the SCIAC Championship.

"Dylan's hard work and dedication were properly rewarded," Oxy head coach Will Morris said. "He has laser-like focus and had an amazing year. He sets the tone and expectation for our entire team."

Jirsa was the model of consistency among SCIAC golfers, never fluctuating much on his scores.

"Dylan made a triple bogey on six, one of the easiest holes he would play all year, back at SCIAC # 1 and I remember worrying how he'd respond," Morris said. "In retrospect, I don't know why I was worried. He shifted into another gear and it last all season."

The Oxy men's team strung together an impressive two days at the SCIAC Championship to go from seventh to fourth in the overall conference stroke total that determines the final standings. 

Jirsa at the SCIAC Championship

SCIAC Men's Golf Awards

Coaching Staff of the Year: Bim Jollymour and CMS

Newcomer of the Year: Harry Brenner, CMS

Golfer of the Year:  Dylan Jirsa, Occidental

First Team

Dylan Jirsa, Occidental

Bryan Wise, Chapman

Alec Spencer, ULV 

Aaron DiGiamarino, ULV

Conor Rooney, PP 

Jon Shaw, CMS

Alex Stroes, Redlands 

Austin Matzaganian, ULV

Second Team: 

Alex Wrenn, CMS

Harry Brenner, CMS

Zane Jarrett, CLU 

Rowan Foxley, Redlands 

Nate Gray, CLU 

Matt Shuman CMS, 

Johnny Brandt, CMS