Tigers Water Polo



Occidental men's water polo celebrates its 83rd anniversary in 2009, having suited up its first Tiger team in 1926. Oxy won its first conference championship in 1953. Since then, Occidental has won 15 conference crowns, a Division II championship, and completed seven season undefeated in league play.

Since becoming a Division III program in 1973, the men's water polo team competes as part of the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC). In addition to playing in the SCIAC, the Tigers are also members of the highly rated Western Water Polo Association. As part of the WWPA, Occidental competes against MPSF, and CWPA teams for the NCAA National Championship.

The 2008 season will feature the return of the bulk of last seasons roster including all seven starters from 2007.  Among them are 2x All-American Cameron Brahmst and returning All-SCIAC honoree Andrew Valdes.  They'll be joined by returning senior standouts Abiel Garcia, Sean Inoue, and John Wensman.  A host of other impact players will return as well, and a strong recruiting class adds three impact players to the roster. 

The Tigers will look to make a strong run in the WWPA, where the conference champion advances to the NCAA Final Four against the winners of the MPSF and CWPA for the National Championship.