Three Tigers, One Team Inducted into HOF

Three Tigers, One Team Inducted into HOF

LOS ANGELES — The Occidental athletic program celebrated its rich athletic history with the induction of three more Tigers and one team into the Occidental Athletics Hall of Fame at a dinner reception on Friday night.

Football player Andy Collins '07, track athlete Steve Haas '63, basketball player Blair Slattery '94 and the 1982 National Champion Women's Tennis Team were all recognized in front of a crowd of more than 175 people at the turn of Bill Henry Track in Jack Kemp Stadium.

Vice President for Student Affiars and Dean of Students Rob Flot presented the inductees with their awards as the host of the event after a short video tribute recognized their extraordinary accomplishments. 

Occidental Trustee Eric Moore '83 was the keynote speaker, welcoming the 2017 class in the sixth year of the Occidental Athletic Hall of Fame.

Profiles of the Hall of Famers

Andy Collins ’07 led the Tigers to a 27–0 SCIAC record during his three-year tenure as quarterback (2004–2006) and is regarded as the most dominant SCIAC football player in the modern era. Collins, who died in 2011, was the SCIAC’s first three-time Offensive Player of the Year and the top quarterback in NCAA Division III as chosen by the American Football Coaches Association. 

One of the most versatile all-around runners in Oxy track and field history, Steve Haas ’63 set school records in the 100, 220, 440, and 880 during the 1963 season. He also was a member of Oxy’s school record 2-mile relay team. In the words of one onlooker, “Haas was a beast in every event.”

Blair Slattery ’94 is Occidental’s all-time career scoring (1,676 points) and rebounding (1,034) leader in men’s basketball. The 6'7", 225-pound forward later played pro ball for five years in Europe, averaging 22 points and 17 rebounds per game in leading Germany’s Munster Basketball Club to a 34-2 record in his first season. 

The 1982 women’s tennis team won the first NCAA Division III championship in the sport, defeating UC San Diego in Jackson, Miss., in May 1982. Coached by Lynn (Pacala) Mehl, the 11-member squad was led by Jean-Marie Sanders ’84, Sue Rene ’82, Kathleen McFadden ’82, and Maria Newton ’85.

Full List of Inductees


Follow Oxy Athletics on Twitter
Sign Up for Newsletters
Watch on Youtube
Follow us on Instagram