Oxy Men's Swim Competes at CMS

Oxy Men's Swim Competes at CMS

CLAREMONT – Occidental men's and women's swim teams fell to CMS in their first meet back after winter break. Despite a grueling week of practice, the Tigers pulled together some impressive swim performances.

The men's 200 B medley relay opened the meet with a fourth place finish, coming in almost a second before the Oxy A relay. On the women's side, the A relay came in third place, out touching the CMS C relay by .30 seconds.

Theo Bass - in his first meet back from Oxy Water Polo – took first place in the 1000 freestyle, negative splitting his race, finishing with an 11:13.97. Rose Seabrook evenly split her race, coming in first place for the women at a time of 1:15.47. Seabrook also took first in the 500 freestyle later in the meet.

In the next event, Madeline Gillman outswam her competitors by nearly 6 seconds, taking home first place in the 200 freestyle, going 2:02.83. Hannah Ash, in her first 200 freestyle of her college career, took home third while Seabrook – swimming back to back events – took home fourth.

Madeleine Kaczmarowski and Lauren Poppenhagen both pulled out in-season best times in the 100 back stroke, finishing 1:04.73 and 1:06.06 respectively.

In the breaststroke events, Cody Hamane swam two impressive races, finishing fourth with a 1:01.40 in the 100 and a first place 2:15.99 in the 200. Lauren Chun and Ellie O'Brien finished two-three in the 100; Chun barely coming to the wall first in a 1:10.42, .06 in front of her teammate. O'Brien topped that off with a second place finish in the 200 with a time of 2:33.69.

Friendly-rivals Chase Mitchell and Sean Sullivan swam head to head in the 50 freestyle. Fighting stroke for stroke, Mitchell out touched Sullivan 22.89 to 23.06. For the women, Zoe Namba touched first for Occidental with a time of 27.35, a time she would later demolish in the relay.

To cap off the meet, the 200 free relay team of William WestwaterDavid Avery, Edward Dabsys, and Sullivan finished in fourth place with a time of 1:33.43. Likewise, the women's team of Lianne McKinney, Namba, Ash, and Gillman finished fourth with a time of 1:48.10.


Follow Oxy Athletics on Twitter
Sign Up for Newsletters
Watch on Youtube
Follow us on Instagram