Fields set for Day two Finals at SCIAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships

LONG BEACH, Calif. – The morning session on day two of the 2011 Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships hosted by Occidental College saw some great swims, which leaves indications of an exciting night ahead.

For preliminary results see below.  

400 Individual Medley
In a race that featured just 21 swimmer, 16 advancing to the evening finals, a 12-second favorite, Christopher Depew won the final heat in 4:11.04, going into the championship final as the second seed. Swimming alongside the defending champion was teammate David Ortyn who finished as the fourth seed entering finals with a 4:13.01. It was the CLU freshman, Conrad Sheffer, heat two winner, who posted the of the event in the fastest time of the morning, a 4:09.78. In a close race for the second and third spots in the heat ULV’s Mark Wilson (4:17.13) and PP’s J.P. Cumming (4:18.55) were closely proximity throughout the race to enter finals as the fifth and sixth seeds, respectively. Jordan Lieberman won the opening heat with no competition, swimming a 4:12.87, taking eight seconds off his entry time. Rounding out the field for the evening swim will be Phil Brady (UR – 4:19.82) and Jeffrey Parsons (CMS – 4:22.14).

100 Butterfly
Just off a meet record time, Collin Gladys led heat four for Redlands with a 49.78. Brendan Huss hit the wall first in 51.07 during the third heat to earn a second seed going into finals. Tommy DePaoli won his heat in 51.65 for the number three seed for PP and Devin Bowers was the only other swimmer under 52 seconds, going a 51.68. The next three spots are separated by just nine hundredths of a second with the 5-6-7 seeds set as UR’s Brent Reed (52.00), PP’s Erik Peterson (52.06) and CLU’s Joe Rye (52.09). Rounding out the championship field is Oxy’s Ben Sullivan, making it into his first SCIAC final with a 52.60.

200 Freestyle
After Alexander Alders cruised to a 1:41.58 finish in heat for the number one seed tonight, the final heat of the morning was a competitive one. Swimmers used the noise from the crowd late as defending champion Tyler Harp (UR) took the top spot in 1:43.39 followed by Grant East (CLU) in 1:43.46. After leading for the majority of the race, Sean Fitzgerald from CMS finished third in the heat in 1:43.64. Jeff McNerney won his heat in 1:43.16 earning the second fastest time of the morning. A pair of Sagehens will swim again tonight with Joe LaBriola  (1:45.16) and Chris Wright (1:45.20) representing PP. CLU junior Jake Kaija edged out Whittier’s Cameron Rehm by a hundredth of a second for the final spot with a 1:45.88.

100 Breaststroke
As expected, this event was an exciting one and crowd got loud during heat three as UR’s Collin Gladys earned the top seed in 56.58. Finishing behind Gladys was CMS junior Nathan Lessen in 59.98 ahead of an energetic, Leopard, Scott Jones, who celebrated his sub-one minute swim of 59.93 with a fist pump. Both swimmers will compete in finals tonight. Vincent Pai covered the water with a series of picture perfect strokes to go a 56.68 in the final heat, earning the second seed for tonight. With a 58.79, Brad Perfect from CMS and the Bulldogs’ Michael Grant (59.67) finished just behind Pai advancing to finals. A pair of freshman in Marc Okimura (ULV) and Clint Freeman (UR) who swam a 58.07 and a 1:00.26, respectively, round out the finals field.

100 Backstroke
The Stags will send five men to the blocks tonight. Meet and SCIAC record holder, Max Scholten, earned the top seed as the PP junior went a 51.24, but not without CMS sophomore Jordan Lieberman tightening the race by making up a body length in the final 25 meters to go a 51.53. Blake Weber (CMS – 51.29) and Chris Evans  (WC – 51.38) won their respective heats and enter the finals as the number two and three seeds. The three other CMS swimmers to earn spots in the final were Nick Ostrein (52.09), Austin Hallett (52.80) and Brendan Haus (53.13). UR’s Mike Reilly rounds out the field with a 54.03.

This afternoon the men are competing in the Three-Meter Diving finals and tonight the teams will swim both the 200 Medley Relay and the 800 Free Relay.

With no clear-cut favorite, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps’ holds a slight edge, 246-235, over the University of Redlands. The third spot is currently held by Pomona-Pitzer (141) with California Lutheran University (132) just behind. Rounding out the field are Whittier College (98), the University of La Verne (90), Occidental College (81) and Caltech (69).

Click here for the most in-depth coverage at the SCIAC Championships website where you can watch live, listen and track results as they happen.